What is a free AI game maker?

By Eduardo Orellana · Updated

Flockbay is free, and so is its AI: every account gets free AI each day on the hosted model, called Demo. When the free usage for the day runs out, it comes back the next day. You can also build on your Claude plan (Pro or Max) or your ChatGPT account (any plan, Free included) in the app, your own agent over MCP, or your own API key, and you pay the company that runs your model, never Flockbay. The download, the editor, Play and export are free. Pictures and sound run on the free AI. A 3D model uses your own Tripo key. Flockbay has no paid plans.

AppImage, x86_64. Ubuntu 22.04, Debian 12, Fedora 39 or newer.

Intel or AMD Chromebook, with Linux turned on.

Download for macOSDownload for Windows

Free in an AI game maker means one thing: who pays for the tokens

Every tool in the table below gives you some of it for nothing, and every one of them has the same bill underneath: each tool call your agent makes and each GDScript file it writes is model inference, and inference costs money per token. A 3D model or a sound from a generator costs money per job. So when a page says free, the useful question is not whether, it is who pays that bill and on what terms.

There are three answers. The first is a credit allowance: the vendor pays for a small monthly amount of inference, then meters you. Ziva’s Hobby plan, GDevelop’s 40 AI requests a month and Unity AI’s 14-day trial on Personal all work this way. The second is export-gated free: you can build, but downloading the project, commercial rights or removing a watermark sit behind a plan. Rosebud puts project code download on a paid plan. The third is bring your own model: the tool costs nothing and the inference runs on an account you already have, so the only bill is the one you were paying anyway.

Flockbay is the third kind, and it is also the first: every account gets free AI each day on the hosted model, called Demo. When the free usage for the day runs out, it comes back the next day. You can also build on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for, on your own agent or on your own key, and you pay that company, never Flockbay. Flockbay has no paid plans.

More on this: How to make games in Claude Code: from install to a game you can play

Flockbay is free: Demo every day, or your own Claude, ChatGPT, agent or API key

Your Claude plan. Pick Claude in the model menu and Flockbay runs Claude Code, Anthropic’s coding agent, behind its own chat, on Claude Pro or Max. It finds Claude Code or installs it the first time, and you sign in on Anthropic’s page. The free Claude plan does not include Claude Code, so it does not work. On Windows.

A ChatGPT sign-in. Flockbay’s chat can run on your ChatGPT account, on any plan, Free included, through the Codex engine that ships with the app. OpenAI sets how much each plan can use.

Your own agent over MCP. Claude Code, Codex, Cursor or any MCP client connects to Flockbay’s MCP server and drives the open Godot editor: scene edits with undo, running the game headless or in the Game screen, reading stdout and GDScript parse errors with file and line, injecting input events and capturing the viewport. Flockbay charges nothing for the connection; you pay your agent’s provider exactly what you pay them now. The Godot MCP guide has the setup for each client.

Your own API key (BYOK). Paste an OpenAI or Anthropic key and Flockbay’s own chat runs on it, billed by your provider per token. Generated pictures, 3D models and sound run on your own Tripo and ElevenLabs keys the same way.

Demo. Every account gets free AI each day on the hosted model, marked Demo in the model menu. When the free usage for the day runs out, it comes back the next day. Pictures and sound run on that free AI. A 3D model uses your own Tripo key.

More on this: Claude for Godot: how to build a Godot game with Claude Code, step by step

What is free with no asterisk

The engine. Flockbay bundles the official Godot 4.7.2, not a fork, so stock Godot 4.7.2 opens the same folder.

The project. It is a real Godot project on your disk: .tscn scenes, GDScript, your assets. There is no export gate, no watermark and no revenue share, and it keeps existing if you stop using Flockbay.

The builder. The terrain, foliage, prop, water, sky and weather tools are buttons around the Godot editor’s own 3D and 2D view, with the editor’s undo. They make no model calls, so hand-building a level costs nothing.

Playtesting. The game runs locally on the bundled Godot. Pressing Play, and the runs your agent starts to check its own work, cost nothing beyond the tokens the agent spends reading the results.

More on this: How do I use Flockbay with my own AI agent?

What free does not cover

Inference, anywhere. On Demo, Flockbay hosts the model, and the free usage for the day comes back the next day. On your own Claude, ChatGPT, agent or API key, you pay that company. Flockbay has no paid plans.

Offline building. The chat, asset generation and world data come over the network, so building needs a connection. Playing the game you built does not.

Every platform equally. Flockbay is released on 64-bit Windows first, and on Linux as an x86_64 AppImage. The Mac build, for Apple Silicon, is an earlier release: it does not yet run Claude in the app or host the full editor. On a Mac today, Ziva or the free Godot AI add-on with your own agent is the free route.

The app’s source. Flockbay is closed source. The engine is Godot and the project is yours; the app that builds it is ours.

More on this: How to make games in Codex: the Codex CLI, the ChatGPT app, or your ChatGPT plan inside Flockbay

What each AI game maker gives you free

Read from each tool’s own website on 29 September 2026. Where a site does not say, the table says “Not stated”. The pages each row was read from are listed on the row.

What each AI game maker gives you free, checked 29 September 2026
ToolWhat it isFree to startPaid fromYour own modelYour projectRead from
FlockbayAI game maker built on the official Godot 4.7.2Free on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan, agent or API key; Demo allowance to startNothing. Demo every day, or your own Claude or ChatGPTClaude Pro or Max and any ChatGPT plan in the app, an agent over MCP, or an OpenAI or Anthropic key, all free from usA Godot project on your disk; no export gate, watermark or revenue sharePricing · Your own agent
ZivaAI agent inside the Godot editorHobby: $3 of AI a month$20 a month (Basic)Every plan can run on your own Claude Code or Codex subscriptionYour stock Godot projectAsset Store · Homepage
Summer EngineAI game engine on its own build of a Godot 4.7.2 baseFree app; hosted AI to try; MCP free$20 a month (Pro)Not for its hosted AI; your own agent reaches it over MCPIts docs say a project can go back to official Godot without the Summer-only AI featuresPricing · AI models · MCP · Godot migration
Your agent + Godot AIFree, MIT-licensed MCP server and editor add-onFree; you pay your agent’s providerFreeWhatever agent you runYour own Godot 4.7 projectGitHub
Your agent + GDAI MCP or Godot MCP ProPaid MCP servers and editor pluginsNo free tier$19 one-time (GDAI), $15 one-time (MCP Pro)Whatever agent you runYour own Godot projectGDAI MCP · Godot MCP Pro
Rosebud AIAI game maker; Rosebud hosts the gameNot stated on its pricing page$15 a month (Indie Dev)Not stated on its pricing pageCommercial rights from the $30 plan; project code download on the $50 planPricing
Unity AIAssistant, AI gateway and MCP server in Unity 6Personal: 1,000 credits for 14 days$10 a month for 1,000 credits (Personal)Not stated on its feature pageYour Unity projectUnity AI
GDevelopNo-code engine, open source (MIT), with an AI40 AI requests a monthNot shown on its pricing pageNot stated on its pricing pageYour GDevelop projectPricing

Where another free route beats Flockbay

If you already pay for Claude Code, Codex or Cursor and want nothing new installed but an add-on, your agent plus the free Godot AI add-on is the cheapest route there is, on any desktop.

On a Mac today, Ziva’s free Hobby plan runs in stock Godot, and the Mac build of Flockbay is an earlier release without Claude in the app or the full editor.

If you never want to see code, GDevelop’s events and its 40 free AI requests a month are built for that person.

Questions

Is Flockbay really free?
Yes. Every account gets free AI each day on the hosted model, called Demo, and it comes back the next day. Claude Pro or Max, or any ChatGPT plan, Free included, also builds the game in the app, and your own agent over MCP or your own OpenAI or Anthropic key is free from us. Claude Free does not run here. Flockbay has no paid plans.
Does the free route expire?
No. It is not a trial. Demo comes back the next day. Your own model has no Flockbay time limit.
Does ChatGPT Free work?
Yes. A ChatGPT Free account signs in and builds, through the Codex engine that ships with the app. OpenAI sets how much each plan can use.
Is there a watermark, export fee or revenue share?
None. The game is a Godot project on your disk, and you can open it in stock Godot 4.7.2 without Flockbay.
Which AI game maker is completely free?
None of them pays for your inference forever. The closest to zero is your own agent plus a free Godot MCP add-on, or Flockbay on your own agent, where the only bill is the model subscription you already have.
Do generated 3D models and sound cost extra?
Pictures and sound run on the free AI. A 3D model uses your own Tripo key. On your own keys, pictures run on a key you add, sound on ElevenLabs, and 3D models on Tripo.